WelCom News
A newspaper for the Wellington and Palmerston North Catholic Dioceses

2019 Suzanne Aubert Scholarship Winners

WelCom February 2019:

Ruchika Jayatilaka

Suzanne Aubert knew the importance of tertiary education for young people. In 1992, the Centennial Year of the Sisters of Compassion, the congregation established the Suzanne Aubert Tertiary Scholarship Grant. Since then, many students have benefitted from the grant and have gained national recognition in their respective professional careers.

In December 2017, the Government announced details of the ‘fees-free tertiary education’ plan. So for the 2019 year, the grants’ committee decided to limit applications to third-year tertiary students. The committee was overwhelmed by the quality of the scholarship applications. It made the selection of the recipients difficult. Initially only three scholarships were to be awarded but the generosity of a benefactor allowed for the granting of two more scholarships.

Scholarship recipients

Olivia van Woerkom is currently a Bachelor of Performing Arts Dance student at Te Kahui Auaha/The New Zealand Institute of Creativity, Wellington. She is concurrently studying the Certificate in Ballet Teaching Studies with the Royal Academy of Dance, London, and is in her final year of dancing and study in 2019. Olivia is passionate about dancing and performing and looks forward to passing on all she has learned to other dancers in the future.

Sara Metcalf has been accepted into her third year of study at Whitireia and is completing a Bachelor in Nursing degree. She is passionate about working with children and wants to make a difference by being a Plunket nurse and helping to provide children with the best start in life.

George Truebridge is in his third year of study towards a Bachelor of Nursing degree at Massey University.

Isaac Boon is studying at the Yoobee School of Design in the areas of digital media, animation and film, and game art and development.

Peter O’Connor is from Westport. Peter is entering his third year of study towards a Bachelor of Agricultural Science at Lincoln University.