WelCom News
A newspaper for the Wellington and Palmerston North Catholic Dioceses

First graduations for new institute


1 February 2013

The first graduates of the newly formed The Catholic Institute received their certificates at a ceremony in Sacred Heart Cathedral on 27 November, at the end of the first full year of operation. Most began studying under the Wellington Catholic Education Centre.

The New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference formed The Catholic Institute to support the vision of an informed laity.

The vision as expressed on its website is that:

The Catholic Institute of Aotearoa New Zealand is a centre for Catholic education and enquiry within the culture of Aotearoa New Zealand and its Catholic heritage. TCI will assist in the education and formation of people in the Catholic faith through the provision of quality courses relevant to their formation as members of the People of God and their roles in the mission of the Church.

It will:

  • meet the needs of the contemporary Church
  • be widely accessible
  • provide qualifications that are portable throughout New Zealand
  • have sound pedagogy, research and scholarship
  • operate in accordance with Catholic teaching
  • be attractive to and meet the aspirations of people of all ages

Dr Anne Tuohy was appointed in November 2011 as its first director and inaugural professor. Certificates were presented to the following scholars from the Wellington and Palmerston North Dioceses:

Diploma in Religious Studies (Pastoral Ministry) – Gijsbert Duindam, Deborah Matheson, Stuart Prangley

Certificate in Catholic Youth Ministry – Daniel Siave

Certificate of Personal Interest – John O’Malley

Diploma in Religious Studies (Religious Education) – Katrin Eickhorst-Squire, Lorraine Gordon

Diploma in Religious Studies (Theological Studies) – Susan Ryan, Cathrine Wells

Diploma of Religious Studies (Walk-By-Faith) – Michael McBryde, Teresa Morley

Certificate in Catechetical Studies – Anita Cannon, Nicholas Dowson, Catherine Duff, Anna Durcan, Robert Evans, Gina Foster, Patricia Kubala, Dianne Moore, Joseph Ready, Dawn Shadwell, Rochelle Wells, Eileen White, Stephen Woodnutt.

Acknowledgement of Completion: Master of Educational Leadership – Mary-Ann Greaney, Celeste Hastings, Kate Jensen, Kathleen McDonnell, Deborah Norris, Patricia Roche.

Image: Faculty members of The Catholic Institute with Archbishop John Dew at the graduation ceremony on 27 November 2012. Dr John Kleinsman, Dr Elizabeth Julian, Dr Chris Duthie-Jung, Dr Anne Tuohy (director), Archbishop John, Professor Rob Strathdee, Head of School, School of Education Policy and Implementation, Victoria University of Wellington. Photo: Hamish Blank