O’Shea Shield 2024: ‘Sparks of Hope – Te Ahi Kā’

Sacred Heart College (SHC) Napier were proud hosts of the 2024 O’Shea Shield Speech and Drama Competition on Friday 17 and Saturday 18 May.

WelCom June/July 2024

Annette Scullion

Sacred Heart College (SHC) Napier were proud hosts of the 2024 O’Shea Shield Speech and Drama Competition on Friday 17 and Saturday 18 May.

Dating back to 1946 and steeped in Catholic tradition, the annual competition sees young people from the 17 Catholic colleges of Wellington and Palmerston North dioceses compete in a variety of speech and drama events over two days.

A pōwhiri at SHC Mission Centre on Thursday 16 May welcomed Bishop John Adams, local dignitaries MP Kate Nimon MP and Napier’s Mayor Kirstin Wise, and hundreds of visiting students, staff and supporters.

Mana whenua, and students and staff from Sacred Heart College and fellow Hawke’s Bay St John’s and St Joseph’s Māori Girl’s Colleges led the welcome with waiata, prayers and blessings.

The 2024 theme, ‘Sparks of Hope’ – Te Ahi Kā, was drawn from Pope Francis’ Fratelli Tutti in which he reminds us, ‘hope speaks to us of something deeply rooted in every human heart’.

Sacred Heart College Tumuaki | Principal Mrs Maria Neville-Foster said in her welcoming speech, ‘It is in the meeting of hearts and minds through the O’Shea Shield this message of hope is spread. These sparks of hope, fuelling the fire, will travel back with all the young participants and ripple through the wider Catholic school community.

SHC was to host the competition last year but after Hawke’s Bay was devastated by Cyclone Gabrielle St Mary’s College stepped as hosts.

‘The next few days, while a fiercely contested competition, is much more,’ Mrs Neville-Foster said. ‘This competition brings communities together; it has helped our community connect in preparation to show Manaakitanga and whanaungatanga to you all who helped us through last year. ‘I wish everyone the best of luck in the competition and let our faith shine through.’

Bishop John then blessed and lit a special candle and offered prayers and blessings to all gathered for the days ahead. 

After two days of fierce competition the event concluded with Mass at St Patrick’s Church presided by Bishop John with Archbishop Paul Martin sm and clergy from the two dioceses concelebrating. Mass was followed by prizegiving.

St Peter’s College Palmerston North and St Patrick’ College Wellington were joint winners of the 2024 O’Shea Shield. 

Next year’s O’Shea Shield Competition will be hosted by Cullinane College in Whanganui.

2024 O’Shea Shield competition results

Cardinal McKeefry Memorial Cup for Oratory (Section A)Sneha Jenson – Sacred Heart College, Napier
Bishop Cullinane Cup for Oratory (Section B)Jessica Tupai – St Mary’s College
George Family Cup for Junior Prepared Speech (Section A)Elsa Mwape – St Peter’s College
Vaughan Family Cup for Junior prepared Speech (Section B)Jesse Penman – St Patrick’s College, Silverstream
Catherine McAuley Cup for English Scripture Reading (Section A)Be Gray – Garin College
Peter Chanel Cup for English Scripture Reading (Section B)Teuila Apineru – Sacred Heart College, Napier
Te Kaipānui i te Kupu Cup for Te Reo Scripture Reading (Section A)Toko Turipa – St John’s College
Te Kaipānui i te Kupu Cup for Te Reo Scripture Reading (Section B)Tenakee Love – St Bernard’s College
Sacred Heart Lower Hutt Jubilee Cup for Impromptu Speaking (Section A)Ivan Faraon – St Patrick’s College, Wellington
Silverstream Cup for Impromptu Speaking (Section B)Petra Cogger – Garin College
Bishop Owen Snedden Cup for Religious DramaBella Goomes, Riley Houīa, Luke Lamont, Willam Haywood, Bridget Ogden-Bell – Garin College
Society of Mary Cup for Religious DramaTevita Alatini, Zion Matagi, Efeso Tuuga, PJ Leiataua, Etan Wallace, Angelo Araiza – St Bernard’s College
St Catherine’s Cup for Best Negative Debating TeamJustine Rivera, Katie Hickey, Anwyn Parry – St Catherine’s College
St Mary’s Cup for Best Affirmative Debating TeamCharles Burns, Michael Cash,
TJ Duggan – St Patrick’s College, Wellington
Hibernian Cup for Religious Questions (Section A)Milla-Rose Klausen, Jael Laroza, Yasanya Fernando – St Mary’s College
The Mercy Cup for Religious Questions (Section B)Alessandra Basile, Michaela Borja, Angelei Canete
– St Catherine’s College
Jubilee Plaque for Host School 2025Cullinane College
Bishop Philippe Viard Memorial Trophy for Runner-up to O’Shea ShieldSt Catherine’s College
O’Shea ShieldSt Patrick’s College, Wellington,  St Peter’s College
St Patrick’s College Wellington and St Peter’s College Palmerston North were the jubilant joint winners of the coveted 2024 O’Shea Sheild Competition trophy. It was the first-time O’Shea Sheild win for St Peter’s College whose triumph was all the more joyful as the college is celebrating its 50th jubilee this year. Photo: Ashton Jamieson