WelCom News
A newspaper for the Wellington and Palmerston North Catholic Dioceses

Catholic Foundation Scholarships

WelCom February 2018: The Catholic Foundation of the Archdiocese of Wellington congratulates the eight students who have each received Foundation scholarships for their 2018 tertiary studies’ year and beyond. The Foundation and wishes the students well in their courses ahead and also wishes well the other students who, while not successful in their scholarship applications, were of equally high calibre.

Scholarship awards were presented at college prize-givings at the end of 2017.

Every year, the Foundation awards six general scholarships and two refugee scholarships to Catholic college students in the Archdiocese. Students’ academic qualifications, as well as their all-round qualities and their potential contributions to the Church are considered.

Cardinal Thomas Williams established The Catholic Foundation in 1981 to further enable the work of the Archdiocese. Scholarship funding stems from donations and bequests to the Foundation.

The scholarships are each worth $3000 a year for three years.

Go online to the Catholic Foundation’s website (catholicfoundation.org.nz/scholarships.php) for details of how to apply for a scholarship.

Kathy Whelan

Kathy Whelan is secretary for the Catholic Foundation, Wellington.

Recipients of the Catholic Foundation Tertiary Study Scholarships for the 2018 year

Tayla-Cade Gerrard of Chanel College, Masterton, will attend the University of Canterbury where she intends studying a Bachelor of Arts with honours majoring in social anthropology and minoring in development studies.

Joseph Mettrick of St Patrick’s College, Wellington, will attend the University of Auckland where he will take an undergraduate degree in health science with the intention of entering medicine.

Juan Paolo Lopez of St Bernard’s College, Lower Hutt, will attend the University of Otago to study medicine.

Janelle Divinagracia of Sacred Heart College, Lower Hutt, will attend either the University of Auckland or Otago University to study medicine.

Breellen Gedye of Paraparaumu College, Kāpiti Coast, was awarded the Catholic Foundation’s Margaret (Peggy) Ryan Scholarship and will attend Victoria University. She has chosen a Bachelor of Science majoring in chemistry leading to a Masters in teaching and learning.

Caleb Binns of Garin College will attend Victoria University, Wellington, to study a conjoint degree of a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Commerce with the hope of majoring in geography, English and economics towards secondary school teaching.

Auushenna David of St Catherine’s College, Wellington, was awarded The Catholic Foundation’s Halina Morrow Refugee Scholarship. Auushenna will attend Victoria University for a Bachelor of Science, majoring in cell and molecular bioscience and psychology.

Dina Tesfay of St Catherine’s College, Wellington, was awarded The Catholic Foundation’s Joseph KISH Refugee Scholarship. Dina will attend Victoria University to study a Bachelor of Arts majoring in media studies and minoring in philosophy and linguistics.